This award was created by the Association for the Scientific Study of Religion–Southwest at the 2008 meeting of the ASSR-SW as part of the Southwest Commission on Religious Studies. The Award was created to honor the service and dedication of Frank P. Forwood, a founding member and long-time program chair of the ASSR-SW. He was a Professor of Sociology and Religion at Northeast Louisiana University (now the University of Louisiana–Monroe) for more than thirty years. Dr. Forwood passed away in 2007 and the Award commemorates his memory, honoring his career service to the ASSR-SW and SWCRS and his many contributions to the study of religion in society.


Previous Honorees:
2021-22: Adam Toler, Yale Divinity School
2020-21: John Francis Burke, Trinity University
2019-20: Darren J. N. Middleton, Texas Christian University
2018-19: Derek de la Pena, University of Houston Downtown
2017-18: Jerry Summers, East Texas Baptist University​
2016-17: Dianne Dentice, Stephen F. Austin State University
2015-16 Ann Reed Wilder, Stephen F. Austin State University
2014-15 Patrick Scott Smith, Independent Scholar, Nixa, Missouri
2013-14 Stephen Padilla, Wayland Baptist University—San Antonio
2012-13 Dennis Horton, Baylor University
2011-12   Todd Jay Leonard, Fukuoka University of Education
2010-11   Ben D. Craver, Wayland Baptist University
2009-10   Todd Jay Leonard, Fukuoka University of Education
2008-09   Dennis P. Horton, Baylor University
2007-08   J. B. Watson, Stephen F. Austin State University

For information regarding this award, contact the ASSR President.