To honor noted scholars in the field of religious studies in the Southwest and to recognize their work, the Commission funds the John G. Gammie Distinguished Scholar Award, which may be given annually. The recipient receives a $1,250 cash award.

The Nomination Process:

Persons nominated for the John G. Gammie Distinguished Scholar Award shall ordinarily be scholars recognized by their peers nationally or internationally for the quality and importance of their work.

Nominees for the Gammie Award must be members of one of the participating societies and on the faculty or staff of a sponsoring institution of the Southwest Commission on Religious Studies.

A letter of nomination must be accompanied by the nominee’s current curriculum vitae. At least two supporting letters from scholars at the same rank as the nominee are also required. Nominations will be kept on file for three years.

Gammie Award decisions shall be based on the qualifications of nominees. Some consideration is given to seeing that the Award goes to a variety of schools.

Nominations for the award should be sent no later than December 1 to the SWCRS Executive Secretary at

Past Honorees:
2021-2022 C. David Grant, Texas Christian University
2020-2021   James W. Thompson, Abilene Christian University
2018-2019   Jack Hill, Texas Christian University
2017-2018   Mikeal Parsons, Baylor University
2016-2017   Nadia Lahutsky, Texas Christian University
2014-2015   Joerg Rieger, Perkins School of Theology
2013-2014   Warren Carter, Brite Divinity School
2012-2013   Andrew Fort, Texas Christian University
2011-2012   Stephen Reid, George W. Truett Theological Seminary
2010-2011   C. Mackenzie Brown, Trinity University
2008-2009   William H. Bellinger, Jr., Baylor University
2007-2008    James C. Moyer, Missouri State University
2006-2007   David Gunn, Texas Christian University
2005-2006   Joe Barnhart, University of North Texas
2004-2005   Claudia Camp, Texas Christian University
2003-2004   Ronald B. Flowers, Texas Christian University
2002-2003   E. Earl Ellis, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
2001-2002   Toni Craven, Texas Christian University
2000-2001   Bruce C. Cresson, Baylor University
1999-2000   John T. Willis, Abilene Christian University
1998-1999   Charles Hedrick, Southwest Missouri State University
1997-1998   Leo Perdue, Brite Divinity School
1996-1997   Everett Ferguson, Abilene Christian University
1995-1996   Roy F. Melugin, Jr., Austin College
1994-1995   James H. Ware, Austin College
1993-1994   Joseph B. Tyson, Southern Methodist University
1992-1993   Glenn O. Hilburn, Baylor University
1991-1992   Brandon Scott, Phillips Graduate Seminary
1990-1991   William O. Walker, Jr., Trinity University
1989-1990   Kenneth Lawrence, Texas Christian University
1988-1989   William Estep, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
1987-1988   William R. Farmer, Southern Methodist University
1986-1987   William R. Baird, Brite Divinity School
1985-1986   Eugene Boring, Phillips Graduate Seminary
1984-1985   John Glenn Gammie, University of Tulsa